top of page

What is the true meaning of Khalsa?

The Khalsa was inaugurated on 30 March 1699, by Shri Guru Gobind Singh. The Sikhs of the Khalsa can be identified with the given Five ks and titles of Singh and Kaur. The tenth Sikh Guru, Guru Gobind Singh at an event that coincided with the Vaisakhi day created Khalsa.

A Sikh male at being initiated into the Khalsa is titled Singh meaning "Lion" and a female is entitled Kaur meaning "Princess". From then on they are commonly referred to as Amritdhari.

The Khalsa needs to abide by the four restrictions set by Shri Guru Gobind Singh Ji and if a Sikh breaks any one of these four restrictions then they are excommunicated from the Khalsa Panth. Guru Gobind Singh also gave the Khalsa 52 specific additional guidelines while living in Nanded.

The uniform of a Singh/Kaur of the Khalsa comprises the Five Ks:

  • Kesh

  • Kanga

  • Kara

  • Kacchera

  • Kirpan

These are for identification and representation of the ideals of Sikhism, such as honesty, equality, fidelity, meditating on God.


Recent Posts

See All

What is Amrit Sanchar?

Video Link -

5 Takhat in Sikhism

Video Link -


bottom of page